Nanonets vs Rossum Pricing and Invoice Automation Compared

Nanonets and Rossum price invoice automation in opposite ways. Nanonets is self-serve and metered: $50 in starting credits, then $0.02, $0.10 or $0.30 per workflow step, which the vendor puts at under $2 an invoice. Rossum, owned by Coupa since May 2026, starts at $18,000 a year on a one-year minimum, with unlimited users and every higher tier quoted. On a typical five-step workflow Nanonets stays cheaper until about 2,800 invoices a month.

Upload your invoices

PDF, JPG, PNG, BMP, HEIC and TIFF

Prices read from both vendor pricing pages
Per-invoice math shown step by step
Honest about where each vendor wins
No invented contract figures

Why comparing Nanonets and Rossum on price is harder than it looks

The two vendors do not sell the same unit. One meters every step a document takes, the other sells a year of capacity, so the headline numbers cannot be lined up without doing the arithmetic.

A per-run meter against an annual floor

Nanonets charges $0.02 to $0.30 each time a document passes a workflow step. Rossum charges from $18,000 a year regardless of how many invoices arrive in a slow month.

Only one Rossum price is public

Starter is listed from $18,000 a year. Business, Enterprise and Ultimate are quote only, and integrations, AP apps and service plans are add-ons with no listed price.

The Nanonets bill depends on your workflow design

A two-step extract-and-export flow costs $0.32 an invoice. Six AI steps cost $1.80. The same invoice volume can cost five times more depending on what you build.

Ownership changed in 2026

Coupa acquired Rossum on May 12, 2026. Buyers outside the Coupa ecosystem now need to ask how integrations and renewal pricing will be handled.

Seat limits change the math

Nanonets Starter allows up to 3 users. Rossum includes unlimited users on every tier. A team with ten approvers is comparing a quoted Nanonets plan, not the $100 a month entry.

Peak months decide the contract size

A metered bill follows a slow February down. An annual Rossum contract has to cover the busiest month of the year, so seasonal volume tilts the comparison toward metering.

What each vendor actually sells

The facts below come from nanonets.com/pricing and rossum.ai/pricing as read in October 2026. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the page says so.

Nanonets starts on credits

Every account gets $50 in credits with no card required, then the Starter plan is $100 a month for 100 credits, with data extraction, API access, email intake and up to 3 users.

Nanonets meters each step

Simple operations such as formatting, routing and export cost $0.02 a run, classification and validation $0.10, and extraction or generative AI $0.30.

Rossum sells a year

Starter starts at $18,000 a year with a one-year minimum. Exceeding the contracted volume means upgrading or paying per additional page.

Rossum seats are unlimited

Every Rossum tier includes unlimited users, which matters for AP teams with many approvers and reviewers.

Enterprise ERP depth sits with Rossum

Rossum Business adds matching, duplicate detection and integrations with SAP, Coupa, Workday and Oracle. Enterprise adds single sign-on and a sandbox.

Mid-market ledgers sit with Nanonets

Nanonets connects to QuickBooks, Xero, Sage and NetSuite and can be set up without a sales call.

How to choose between Nanonets and Rossum

Four steps turn two very different price lists into one decision you can defend.

1

Count invoices and pages for a full year

Pull monthly invoice counts for the last twelve months, including the busiest month. A metered tool follows the swings; a contract must be sized for the peak.

Tip: Seasonal businesses usually benefit from metered billing.

2

Write down the workflow steps you need

List every step an invoice must pass: classification, extraction, validation, matching, routing, export. Price each step at the Nanonets run rate.

Tip: Extraction plus export alone is $0.32 an invoice.

3

Find your crossover against $18,000

Divide $1,500 a month by your Nanonets cost per invoice. A $0.54 workflow crosses Rossum Starter near 2,800 invoices a month.

Tip: Ask Rossum for the quote before you assume Starter covers your volume.

4

Test both on your 20 worst invoices

Use the Nanonets credits and the Rossum 14-day trial on the same hard invoices and count corrected fields per document.

Tip: Reviewer minutes usually cost more than the software.

Nanonets vs Rossum pricing, features and fit

Both price lists side by side, the per-invoice math, the cost at three volumes, the honest capability split and what the Coupa deal means for buyers.

Small and mid-sized AP teams

A few hundred invoices a month on QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite. Metered billing and self-serve setup usually beat an annual contract here.

Enterprise AP and shared services

Thousands of invoices a month, many reviewers, SAP or Oracle in the back. Rossum Business or Enterprise is built for this shape.

Bookkeeping and accounting firms

Many clients with uneven volume. A per-run meter or a flat extractor tracks real usage better than one large contract.

Coupa customers

Rossum is now Coupa's own capture technology, which makes it the natural pick if Coupa already runs procurement and AP.

Common Search Terms

is nanonets better than rossum how much does rossum cost how much does nanonets cost per page does rossum have a free trial who owns rossum rossum coupa acquisition nanonets credits rossum starter plan

Document Types We Handle

nanonets vs rossum
rossum vs nanonets
nanonets vs rossum pricing
nanonets rossum comparison
rossum pricing
nanonets pricing
rossum alternative
nanonets alternative
rossum cost per year
nanonets cost per invoice
Accounts payable team reviewing vendor invoice costs before choosing an extraction vendor

Nanonets vs Rossum pricing side by side

Nanonets bills per workflow run with no contract: $50 in starting credits, then $0.02, $0.10 or $0.30 for each step a document passes through. Rossum publishes one number, Starter from $18,000 a year on a one-year minimum, and quotes every tier above it. One is a meter, the other is an annual commitment.

Every figure below was read from nanonets.com/pricing and rossum.ai/pricing in October 2026, in US dollars. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the table says so rather than filling the gap with a guess.

Pricing detailNanonetsRossum
Entry price$50 in credits, no card, then $100 a month for 100 creditsStarter from $18,000 a year
How usage is billedPer run: $0.02 simple, $0.10 standard AI, $0.30 complex AIAnnual contract sized to pages or documents
Higher tiersGrowth (quote, up to 40% volume discount), Enterprise (custom)Business, Enterprise, Ultimate, all quote only
Minimum termNone published on StarterOne year
Trial$50 in starting credits instead of a time limit14-day free trial
UsersUp to 3 on StarterUnlimited on every tier
OverageYou pay for the runs you useUpgrade the tier or pay per additional page
Vendor estimate per invoiceUnder $2 end to end, at 4 to 6 stepsNot published

The two models reward different buyers. A metered bill tracks volume exactly, so a business with 150 invoices in a slow month pays for 150. A floor of $18,000 is about $1,500 a month whether you send it 300 invoices or 3,000, which is good value at the top of that range and expensive at the bottom.

How much does Rossum cost?

Rossum costs at least $18,000 a year. That is the published starting price of the Starter tier, roughly $1,500 a month, on a minimum one-year contract. Business, Enterprise and Ultimate carry no public price and are quoted against your annual page or document volume, the integrations you need and the support plan.

Starter already includes unlimited users, intake by email, API or manual upload, the Aurora Document AI extraction engine, a validation screen for exceptions and human review, API access and 12 months of archive search. Business adds custom extraction logic, matching against your own databases, duplicate detection, a shared mailbox for supplier communication, webhooks, workflow reporting and integrations with SAP, Coupa, Workday and Oracle. Enterprise adds single sign-on, a sandbox, document translation and a preferred cloud region. Ultimate adds multi-document transactions, an embeddable interface and three years of archive search. Integrations, AP apps, e-invoicing and service plans are sold as add-ons with no listed price, so a realistic first-year total sits above the floor. Our Rossum pricing breakdown goes tier by tier.

How much does Nanonets cost per invoice?

Nanonets costs between about $0.32 and $1.80 per invoice at list rates, depending on how many steps your workflow runs. A bare extract-and-export flow is two runs. Nanonets says a typical invoice workflow uses four to six blocks and lands under $2 per invoice end to end.

The per-run price depends on the type of step. Formatting, routing and export are $0.02. Classification and validation are $0.10. Data extraction and generative AI steps are $0.30. Here is what three realistic workflows cost per document when you add those up.

WorkflowSteps it runsCost per invoice
LeanExtraction ($0.30) plus export ($0.02)$0.32
TypicalClassification ($0.10), extraction ($0.30), validation ($0.10), routing ($0.02), export ($0.02)$0.54
HeavySix complex AI steps at $0.30, the vendor's own worst case$1.80

The lean figure is the one most comparisons miss. If you only need fields pulled from a PDF and pushed to QuickBooks or a spreadsheet, you are not paying the $2 headline. If you add classification, validation, approvals and generative checks, you move toward it fast. Model the steps before you model the price. The full Nanonets pricing page covers the credit rules and plan limits.

Nanonets vs Rossum cost at 200, 1,000 and 5,000 invoices a month

At 200 invoices a month Nanonets costs about $770 to $4,320 a year against Rossum's $18,000 floor. At 1,000 a month the typical Nanonets workflow is about $6,480 a year. At 5,000 a month even a lean Nanonets flow passes $19,000 and Rossum's fixed contract starts to look reasonable.

Invoices a monthNanonets lean ($0.32)Nanonets typical ($0.54)Nanonets heavy ($1.80)Rossum
200$768 a year$1,296 a year$4,320 a yearFrom $18,000 a year
1,000$3,840 a year$6,480 a year$21,600 a yearFrom $18,000 a year, quoted
5,000$19,200 a year$32,400 a year$108,000 a yearQuote, Business tier or above likely

These are list rates before the up to 40% volume discount Nanonets advertises on Growth, so a 5,000-invoice heavy workflow could negotiate toward roughly $65,000. On the typical five-step flow, Nanonets stays under Rossum's floor until about 2,800 invoices a month. On a heavy six-step AI flow, the crossover comes much earlier, near 830 invoices a month. Rossum's number at 5,000 invoices is unknown because it is quoted, and a team at that volume usually needs Business-tier matching anyway.

Is Nanonets better than Rossum?

Nanonets is the better fit for small and mid-sized finance teams that want self-serve setup, pay-as-you-go billing and ready connectors for QuickBooks, Xero, Sage and NetSuite. Rossum is the better fit for enterprise AP teams running SAP, Oracle, Workday or Coupa that need matching, duplicate detection, unlimited reviewers and single sign-on under one contract.

Neither is better in the abstract. The honest split looks like this.

CapabilityNanonetsRossum
Self-serve signupYes, start on creditsQuote and demo on every tier
Reviewer seatsUp to 3 on Starter, more on quoted plansUnlimited from Starter
Accounting connectorsQuickBooks, Xero, Sage, NetSuiteSAP, Coupa, Workday, Oracle on Business and above
Matching to POs or master dataBuilt as workflow steps you pay per runBusiness tier and above
Duplicate detectionConfigured as a workflow stepBusiness tier and above
Single sign-on and sandboxEnterprise planEnterprise tier
ArchiveCloud storage connectors12 months on Starter, 3 years on Ultimate
Where it winsLow and uneven volume, quick start, mid-market ledgersHigh volume, complex approvals, large ERPs

A practical test settles most cases. Take your 20 hardest invoices from last month, the multi-page ones with long item tables and odd layouts, and run them through both trials. Count corrected fields per invoice, not a vendor accuracy claim. That number drives reviewer time, which costs more than either subscription at real volume.

What changed for buyers when Coupa bought Rossum

Coupa announced its acquisition of Rossum on May 12, 2026. Rossum is still sold on its own pricing page with the same four tiers, but its roadmap now points at Coupa's source-to-pay platform and Navi AI agents, which matters most if your company does not run Coupa.

For a Coupa customer this is good news: tighter invoice capture inside a system you already own. For an AP team on NetSuite or Microsoft Dynamics, it is a reason to ask in writing how long current non-Coupa integrations will be supported and whether pricing will change at renewal. Terms of the deal were not disclosed. Nanonets remains independent and venture backed, having raised a $29 million round led by Accel in March 2024. If you are weighing other enterprise options against Rossum, the Rossum alternatives page covers them.

Where a flat invoice extractor fits instead of either

If your job is getting invoice header fields and every line item into a spreadsheet, QuickBooks or an ERP import file, a flat monthly extractor is usually cheaper than both. InvoiceExtractor Starter is $49 a month for 2,500 pages on the Base AI model, and Plus is $149 a month for 10,000 pages, with line items included.

That is not the same product as Rossum. There is no approval workflow, no PO matching engine and Plus is a single seat. What it does is turn PDFs, scans and photos into clean rows with no per-step meter, which is the whole requirement for many small AP teams and bookkeeping firms. At 1,000 single-page invoices a month, Plus costs $1,788 a year against $6,480 on a typical Nanonets workflow and $18,000 on Rossum Starter. When the extracted bills then need approval routing and payment, a dedicated accounts payable automation layer does that job, and when invoices have to be checked against open purchase orders first, a purchase order management tool keeps that record. Try one of your own invoices in the tool at the top of this page and compare the rows with what either trial returns.

Nanonets vs Rossum questions

Nanonets is better for small and mid-sized teams that want self-serve setup, per-run billing and connectors for QuickBooks, Xero, Sage and NetSuite. Rossum is better for enterprise AP on SAP, Oracle, Workday or Coupa that needs matching, duplicate detection and unlimited reviewers. Test both on your hardest invoices before deciding.

Rossum Starter starts at $18,000 a year, about $1,500 a month, on a minimum one-year contract. Business, Enterprise and Ultimate are quote only, priced on your page or document volume, and integrations and service plans are add-ons with no listed price.

Nanonets charges per workflow run rather than per page: $0.02 for simple steps, $0.10 for standard AI and $0.30 for extraction. A lean extract-and-export flow is about $0.32 a document, and Nanonets says a typical four to six step invoice workflow stays under $2.

Yes. Rossum's pricing FAQ describes a 14-day free trial. After that, every tier, including Starter, is bought through a quote with a minimum one-year term.

No, not for ongoing use. New accounts get $50 in starting credits with no card, which covers a few dozen invoices depending on workflow steps. After that the Starter plan is $100 a month for 100 credits plus usage.

Coupa, the spend management company, announced it had acquired Rossum on May 12, 2026. Financial terms were not disclosed. Rossum continues to sell its four tiers on its own pricing page.

Against Rossum Starter at $18,000 a year, a typical $0.54 Nanonets workflow crosses over near 2,800 invoices a month, and a heavy $1.80 workflow near 830. Rossum quotes above Starter, so confirm the quote covers your volume before comparing.

If you only need invoice fields and line items exported to Excel, CSV or an accounting import, a flat extractor costs less. InvoiceExtractor Starter is $49 a month for 2,500 pages and Plus is $149 a month for 10,000 pages, with no per-step meter.